Pennsylvania Homeschool Law
Pennsylvania compulsory school attendance age
Currently, children must attend school or comply with the homeschool laws between the ages of 8 and 17 years. This will change for the 2020/2021 school year, when children must attend school or comply with the homeschool laws between the ages of 6 and 18 year.
Philadelphia’s compulsory school age is 6. This early age requirement does not apply if you plan to conduct a home education program for your child and file a notice of this with the superintendent of your local school district.
HSLDA believes that a parent-issued diploma and transcript should be sufficient to demonstrate that a child has completed a secondary education. However, even if your child is beyond compulsory school attendance age, there may be situations where you would want to continue to follow the requirements of a home education option recognized under Pennsylvania law until your child graduates from high school (filing a home education notice, keeping attendance and other records, etc.). These records may be requested in some situations, such as obtaining a driver’s license if your child is a minor, enlisting in the military, applying to colleges, or demonstrating eligibility for Social Security benefits. If you are a member of HSLDA and would like additional details, please contact them.
Affidavits & Objectives
Affidavit Template for 1 child from PA Homeschool Support click here
Affidavit Template for 2+ children from PA Homeschool Support click here
Sample Affidavit from CHAP click here
Sample Affidavit from Mason Dixon Homeschoolers Association click here
Sample Objectives from PHEA click here
Sample Objectives from PHEN click here
CHAP’s Homeschooling Briefs click here
Gov. Robert Casey signed this law into effect December 21, 1988.
Gov. Tom Corbett signed this law into effect October 31, 2014.
Gov. Tom Wolf signed this law into effect June 28, 2019.